Monday, July 22, 2024

Beachwood sweeps Chagrin Division

Beachwood’s track teams swept the Chagrin Valley Conference Chagrin Division championships, winning titles in both the boys’ and girls’ competitions.

The Bison scored 141 ½ points in the girls’ division to beat out second-place Chagrin Falls, who scored 134 points, and they scored 146 points to cruise to the boys’ title ahead of second-place Harvey, who finished with 115.

Senior Dakota Houston clinched three individual CVC titles to spark the Bison to the team title.

She won the 100-meter dash in 12.44, the 200 in 25.58, and the long jump with a best leap of 17 feet, 3 inches.

Beachwood’s other individual CVC title winners included Peter Adobamen (800, 2:01.56), Alexandra Kheyfets (3200, 11:40.47), Osita Ogor (100, 11.06; 200, 22.26), and Josh Rosenberg (discus, 128-8).

The Bison also won the boys’ 4×200-meter relay.

Strahinja Dimitrijevic, Ogor, Mattix Revells, and Jonathan Perry completed that race in 1:31.89.

Other event winners on the girls’ side included Chagrin Falls’ Mila Gresh (1600, 5:11.52), Bella Radomsky (800, 2:18.97), and Natalie Zalud (pole vault, 9-3); Hawken’s Leila Metres (400, 58.23) and Gabrielle Turner (shot put, 36-10; discus, 109-8); and West Geauga’s Kara Deister (100 hurdles, 15.70; 300 hurdles, 47.87; high jump, 5-2).

Harvey’s 4×100-meter relay team of Bri Taylor, Dionjanae Crawford, SuRai Burt, and Jayla Holloway won that event in 51.28, and Taylor, Nevaeh Edwards, Burt, and Holloway won the 4×200 in 1:50.52.

Hawken won the 4×400-meter relay in 4:13.62.

Lila Morley, Sofia Boyd, Lorelai Goedecke, and Metres competed in that event for the Hawks.

Chagrin Falls won the girls’ 4×8 in 10:03.41.

Leah Kler, Avery Russell, Lilly Stukus, and Gresh competed in that event.

Individual CVC champions in the boys’ competition included Chagrin Falls’ Jack Kittle (400, 50.22); Harvey’s Eryck McClain (high jump, 6-0) and Levi Mullen-Zurbrugg (shot put, 46-9 ¾); Hawken’s Jordan Johnson (long jump, 20-4) and Ethan Metz (pole vault, 14-6); Orange’s Brandon Gent (3200, 9:50.56) and Naashonn Calliens (110 hurdles, 14.96; 300 hurdles, 40.19); and West Geauga’s Matthew Dienes (1600, 4:28.04).

Orange, Chagrin Falls, and Hawken won CVC titles in the relays.

Cameron Evans, Donlevy Hughes, Beren Berber, and Dominic Anekwe won the 4×100-meter relay for the Lions in 43.88.

Chagrin Falls’ 4×400-meter relay team of Jake McClintock, Casey Verderber, Griffin Laws, and Kittle won that event in 3:30.40.

Hawken’s Parker Carrus, Chase Levey, Sam Cohen, and Nick Garcia-Whitko ran to a win the 4×800-meter relay with a time of 8:15.29.



Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Former West Geauga standout Riley Huge realizes dream

Former West Geauga standout Riley Huge realized a dream when he was drafted in the 13th round of the Major League Baseball draft.

Hawken hosts 7-on-7

Hawken hosted Kirtland, Eastlake North, and Lake Catholic in a 7-on-7 showdown on Thursday.

Perry puts in work at Chardon

Perry's football team prepared for the 2024 season by competing in a 7-on-7 at Chardon on Wednesday.

2024-2025 CVC Divisional Alignment: Girls Tennis

The 2024-2025 school year will see several slight changes to the Chagrin Valley Conference divisional alignments.

Berkshire hosts competitive 7-on-7

Berkshire's football team took another step in preparing for the 2024 football season by hosting a 7-on-7 on Wednesday.