Sunday, May 19, 2024

CVC athletes dive into state meet

Chagrin Valley Conference swimmers and divers will compete for All-Ohio honors this week at the 2022 OHSAA State Swimming and Diving Championships.

The event kicks off on Wednesday at the C.T. Branin Natatorium in Canton with the girls’ and boys’ diving championships and continues through Saturday.

  • Click here for the full schedule.
  • Click here for the schedule of live video streams.

Listed below are the CVC swimmers and divers who have qualified for the state meet (seed times are in parenthesis):


200-yard Medley Relay

  • Hawken (1:36.61)
  • Chagrin Falls (1:38.20)

200-yard Freestyle

  • Will Dietz, Hawken (1:43.77)
  • Lucas Greenberg, Hawken (1:44.11)
  • Preston Wooley, Hawken (1:47.72)

200-yard Individual Medley

  • Joshua Rooney, Chagrin Falls (1:59.80)
  • Sam Ornstein, Beachwood (2:00.58)

100-yard Butterfly

  • Madan Morris, Hawken (52.44)
  • Bobby Munz, Chagrin Falls (52.62)
  • Jacob Esposito, Hawken (52.73)

100-yard Freestyle

  • Lucas Greenberg, Hawken (47.69)

500-yard Freestyle

  • Preston Wooley, Hawken (4:43.88)
  • Abraham Silvers, Hawken (4:45.09)

200-yard Freestyle Relay

  • Chagrin Falls (1:29.35)
  • Hawken (1:30.55)
  • Beachwood (1:30.96)

100-yard Backstroke

  • Will Dietz, Hawken (52.51)
  • Joshua Rooney, Chagrin Falls (52.87)

100-yard Breaststroke

  • Sam Ornstein, Beachwood (59.96)

400-yard Freestyle Relay

  • Hawken (3:13.60)
  • Chagrin Falls (3:18.80)


1-Meter Diving

  • Samantha Holtz, Chagrin Falls (492.75)
  • Christianna Reineke, Hawken (333.90)

200-yard Medley Relay

  • Hawken (1:48.43)
  • Chagrin Falls (1:54.04)
  • Orange (1:54.48)

200-yard Freestyle

  • Carys Edgar, Hawken (1:53.77)
  • Ashley Chase, West Geauga (1:54.11)
  • Tori Culotta, Hawken (1:54.83)
  • Erin Butler, Hawken (1:58.67)

200-yard Individual Medley

  • Jessica Eden, Hawken (2:03.93)
  • Lily Klinginsmith, Orange (2:06.29)
  • Sarah Pophal, Hawken (2:08.00)
  • Chloe Bautista, Hawken (2:09.73)
  • Alexandra Scharpf, Chagrin Falls (2:12.02)

50-yard Freestyle

  • Maggie Mallett, Hawken (24.14)

100-yard Butterfly

  • Lily Klinginsmith, Orange (55.46)
  • Kaley Ream, Kirtland (56.21)
  • Maggie Mallett, Hawken (56.87)
  • Chloe Bautista, Hawken (58.13)
  • Marie Musbach, Hawken (59.82)

100-yard Freestyle

  • Ashley Chase, West Geauga (52.77)
  • Addy Pruce, Hawken (54.11)

500-yard Freestyle

  • Tori Culotta, Hawken (4:58.19)
  • Carys Edgar, Hawken (5:01.42)
  • Sarah Pophal, Hawken (5:01.61)
  • Kaley Ream, Kirtland (5:05.49)
  • Erin Butler, Hawken (5:10.15)

200-yard Freestyle Relay

  • Hawken (1:35.48)

100-yard Backstroke

  • Jessica Eden, Hawken (55.38)
  • Alaina Pizarro, Hawken (59.04)
  • Asma Khan, Hawken (59.08)
  • Madi Machado, Chagrin Falls (59.57)

100-yard Breaststroke

  • Madi Machado, Chagrin Falls (1:07.00)

400-yard Freestyle Relay

  • Hawken (3:27.19)
  • Orange (3:42.72)


Steve Hare
Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles


Perry walks off with win over Riverside

Sam Tharp’s bases-loaded single allowed Perry to walk off with a 4-3 win over visiting Perry at Classic Park on Saturday.

CVC Athletes of the Week

Athletes from 11 different schools have been named the Chagrin Valley Conference Athletes of the Week for the week ending May 12.

Lake Division title on the line

Edgewood and Madison will square off on Thursday in a pair of games that will decide the Chagrin Valley Conference Lake Division title.

CVC athletes claim seven titles on first day of district meets

Chagrin Valley Conference athletes claimed seven individual titles on the first day of the OHSAA district meets on Wednesday.

Perry, Berkshire advance in postseason play

Perry and Berkshire kept their postseason runs intact with wins on Wednesday and will meet in a Division III district semifinal on Monday at Struthers High School.