Saturday, June 15, 2024

CVC runners earn regional berths

Led by Hawken’s boys’ and girls’ teams, who both won district championships, the Chagrin Valley Conference qualified 13 teams and eight individual runners to next weekend’s regional championships.

Hawken’s boys’ team won the Division II Madison District title with 70 points.

Sophomore Nick Garcia-Whitko won an individual district title with a time of 16:13.

David Hamilton (16:55) and Parker Carrus (16:57) finished 11th and 12th, respectively, and Sam Cohen also finished among the top 20 with a time of 17:24. Logan Miller (17:45), Mac McMillan (18:14), and Jeremy Hofius (18:17) also ran for the Hawks.

Hawken’s girls’ team also won at Madison thanks to an individual title from freshman Brielle Collins, who finished in 18:49. Elena Padley also placed among the top 20 as she was seventh with a time of 20:03.

Sofia Boyd (20:43), Delicia Liao (20:44), Lorelai Goedecke (20:56), Gaby Montero (21:58), and Camille Boyer (23:22) also competed.

Geneva’s Alex Kolhoff was the lone CVC runner to qualify for regionals out of the Division I Madison District. He placed 18th in 16:55.

Beachwood’s boys’ team advanced out of the Division II Lorain District by finishing seventh as a team.

Gregory Perryman (30th, 18:10), Max Kuenzler (36th, 18:26), and Vincent Crenshaw (40th, 18:31) all finished among the top 50 for the Bison.

Three other CVC boys’ teams advanced out of the Division II Madison District.

West Geauga placed second behind Hawken, Chagrin Falls was third, and Edgewood was sixth.

Daniel Kearnes (5th, 16:44) and Matt Dienes (7th, 16:50) paced the Wolverines while Isaac Bourne finished second in 16:32 to lead the Tigers. Edgewood’s top runner was Granison Hill, who placed fourth in 16:43.

Orange’s Brian Gent and Chris Utech, and Grand Valley’s David Steimle qualified as individuals. Gent placed eighth in 16:54, Utech was 24th in 17:41, and Steimle ran his way to 14th place in 17:02.

In the girls’ race, CVC teams secured all six qualifying spots.

Hawken won the district title, Edgewood finished second, Chagrin Falls was third, Perry placed fourth, Geneva was fifth, and West Geauga came in sixth.

Edgewood’s Maddie Crooks finished second to Collins with a tie of 19:02. Chagrin Falls’ Rose Hoelzel placed third in 19:06 and teammate Mila Gresh was fourth in 19:08. Grace Gyetko was West Geauga’s top runner as she finished fifth in 19:09, and Cori Lynch paced the Pirates with a seventh-place finish in 19:53. Renee Tetlow led Geneva with a ninth-place finish in 20:09.

Orange’s Kate Halloran qualified as an individual. She placed sixth in 19:27.

Independence had three runners qualify for the regional meet out of the Division III Lorain District.

Kyle McGovern placed 12th in the boys’ race with a time of 18:08 and Alana Nowak and Gabby McGreevy also area headed to the regional meet after placing sixth and 18th, respectively. Nowak finished in 21:10 while McGreevy crossed the finish line in 22:26.

Berkshire’s boys’ and Kirtland’s girls’ teams advanced out of the Division III Madison District.

The Badgers placed fourth as a team with Lucas Leggett and Jarrett Long both finishing among the top 20 runners. Leggett was eighth in 17:26 and Long finished 17th in 18:10.

Reilly Greenlee paced the Hornets, who finished fifth as a team. She placed 19th in 21:28.

Cardinal’s Lily Ayer also advanced as an individual. She placed 11th in 20:38.


Steve Hare
Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

2024-2025 CVC Divisional Alignment: Girls Soccer

The 2024-2025 school year will see several slight changes to the Chagrin Valley Conference divisional alignments.

2024-2025 CVC Divisional Alignment: Volleyball

The 2024-2025 school year will see several slight changes to the Chagrin Valley Conference divisional alignments.

Kirtland tabs Josh Sladick to take over storied soccer program

For the first time in 20 years, Kirtland’s storied girls’ soccer team will have a new head coach.

2024-2025 CVC Divisional Alignment: Football

The 2024-2025 CVC Divisional Alignment for football has changed slightly. Here are the new divisions for the upcoming school year.

2024 All-CVC Tennis Teams

The 2024 All-Chagrin Valley Conference tennis teams were decided on the court at the CVC tennis championships earlier this spring. Those teams are listed below: CHAGRIN...