Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Independence finishes third at district golf tournament; Orange places 10th

Independence’s bid to return to the state tournament ended at the Division II district competition at Tam O’Shanter Hills Golf Course on Tuesday. The Blue Devils, the defending Division II state champion, finished third overall behind Cardinal Mooney and Laurel. Only the top two teams advanced to the state tournament.

Orange finished 10th as a team and Kirtland’s Cici Anness placed among the top 15 golfers.

“We almost did it,” said Independence coach Karl Schuld. “Emma McGreal finished fifth and the team finished third. It just wasn’t good enough today but what improvement from the kids throughout the year.”

Mooney finished with a 370, Laurel came in with a 371 and Independence shot a 182.

McGreal fired an 85 to lead the Blue Devils.

“She played well all day long,” Schuld said. “She had a couple of awkward holes that cost her a better round but she came so far this year. At sectionals last year, she shot a 112. That shows you how much you can improve over one year with hard work.”

Morgan Pascarella and Allie Ksiazka finished 17th and tied for 18th, respectively.

Pascarella shot a 96 while Ksiazka carded a 97.

“Allie and Morgan aren’t quite to the point where they want to be,” Schuld said. “Again, where they were and where they are now it’s just amazing how much hard work pays off.”

Alexis Kovesdi shot a career-low 104 for the Blue Devils, who will return their top four scorers next season and add several promising golfers from their junior program.

“We’re in a really good place,” Schuld said. “We have some good young golfers to add to what we already have. I’m really very excited about the future of Independence golf.”

Independence will lose senior Hannah Botzman, who finished with a 115.

“Hannah fought hard all day long and gave it everything she could,” Schuld said. “She’s a big reason we scored so well at sectionals last week. I felt bad for her being my lone senior. She was kind of bummed, but I’m so glad she came out and golfed her senior year.”

Orange finished 10th with 422 strokes.

Senior Emma Briskin led the Lions with an 89, junior Jesseca Hudson-Turpin finished with a 104 and junior Noelle Laisure carded a 111. Junior Leah Laisure and senior Casey Hart both came in with a 118.

Kirtland junior Cici Anness finished 14th overall with a 92.

Dist. Tournament: (NE) Division II Girls – Tam O’Shanter Hills

Qualifiers: Top 2 teams and 2 individuals not on a qualifying team

Team Place: * Indicates qualifying team

1. Mooney* 370 (Hadley Spielvogel 82, Jayne Bernard 91, Alexandria Patrone 98, Alyssa Rapp 107, Grace Ogden 99); 2. Laurel* 371 (Jami Morris 74, Grace Durdle 98, Madeleine Bee 102, Emily Axner 97, Lauren Nassif 107); 3. Independence 382; 4. Northwestern 387; 5. SVSM 409; 6. Beaumont 409; 7. Woodridge 412; 8. Champion 412; 9. Lakeview 420; 10. Orange 422; 11. Hubbard 430; 12. Canton C.C. 462; 13. Columbiana 0; 14. Elyria Cath. 0; 15. Keystone 0; 16. Springfield 0; 17. Crestview 0; 18. Rittman 0; 19. Salem 0; 20. Bristol 0; 21. Kirtland 0; 22. Luth. West 0; 23. Andrews Osborne Academy 0.

Individual Scores: * Indicates qualifying individual

1. Jami Morris(Laurel) 74; 2. Sam Webb*(Luth. West) 77; 3. Jelena Lainovic*(Andrews Osborne Academy) 81; 4. Hadley Spielvogel(Mooney) 82; 5. Emma McGreal(Independence) 85; 6. Allison St.Clair(Northwestern) 87; 7. Paige Sexstella (Elyria Cath.) 89, Emma Briskin(Orange) 89; 9. Kara Leatherman (Rittman) 90, Madison Horvath (Springfield) 90; 11. Lauren Bangasser(Beaumont) 91, Nikki Selzer (Keystone) 91, Jayne Bernard(Mooney) 91; 14. Cici Anness (Kirtland) 92; 15. Natalie Noble(Beaumont) 94; 16. Julia Hofacker(SVSM) 95; 17. Morgan Pascarella(Independence) 96; 18. Reagan Schick(Lakeview) 97, Allie Ksiazka(Independence) 97, Emily Axner(Laurel) 97; 21. Grace Durdle(Laurel) 98, Nyomi Morris(Beaumont) 98, Joren Rickard(Northwestern) 98, Jacqelyn Adler(Hubbard) 98, Alexandria Patrone(Mooney) 98; 26. Sophia Nicholas(Lakeview) 99, Grace Ogden(Mooney) 99; 28. Karlie Mowrer(Northwestern) 100, Kayla Kearns(Woodridge) 100, Avery Rickenbacher(Woodridge) 100, Amanda Trinckes(Hubbard) 100, Kylie Gardner(Champion) 100; 33. Sarahkathryn Henderson(SVSM) 101; 34. Allison Smith(Champion) 102, Madeleine Bee(Laurel) 102, Madelyn Wechter (Elyria Cath.) 102, Tamar Walton(Northwestern) 102; 38. Katie Webb (Bristol) 103; 39. Ariana Rodi (Crestview) 104, Jesseca Hudson-Turpin(Orange) 104, Alexis Kovesdi(Independence) 104, Julie Peace(Champion) 104; 43. Halle Kalaman(SVSM) 105, Hayley Roenigk(Woodridge) 105, Kelly Hutton (Salem) 105; 46. Sydney Huffman(Champion) 106; 47. Alyssa Rapp(Mooney) 107, Liz Presley(Woodridge) 107, Lauren Nassif(Laurel) 107; 50. Emily Steel(SVSM) 108, Kaitlin Kemp(SVSM) 108; 52. Kaitlin Belden(Canton C.C.) 109; 53. Reagan Wesig(Woodridge) 110; 54. Noelle Laisure(Orange) 111; 55. Kelsey Lucas(Lakeview) 112, Kristen Lucas(Lakeview) 112, Taylor Adams(Canton C.C.) 112, Jessica Himes (Columbiana) 112; 59. Hannah Botzman(Independence) 113; 60. Noelle Trobek(Hubbard) 114; 61. Casey Hart(Orange) 118, Allison Femia(Hubbard) 118, Leah Laisure(Orange) 118; 64. Allyson Wenger(Champion) 119; 65. Katie Vranich(Canton C.C.) 120; 66. Katie Bonar(Canton C.C.) 121; 67. Kaileen Stevens(Lakeview) 122; 68. Elle Harper(Canton C.C.) 125; 69. Lena Dunkerley(Hubbard) 126, Katherine Foerg(Beaumont) 126; 71. Olivia Panichi(Beaumont) 134.

Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Perry earns first trip to district tournament

Perry’s girls’ golf team cemented its legacy as the best in school history on Tuesday by becoming the first Pirate team to qualify for the district tournament.

CVC Boys Soccer Stat Leaders

The high school soccer season has crossed the midway point and the top players are making their mark.

Geneva wins CVC Valley Division tennis tournament

Geneva edged host Lakeside to win the 2023 Chagrin Valley Conference Valley Division girls’ tennis tournament on Saturday.

Hawken girls win Chagrin Division tennis tournament

Hawken won three of five individual titles on the way to clinching the 2023 Chagrin Valley Conference Chagrin Division tournament championship on Saturday at Perry High School.

CVC Football Roundup: Week 6

Six weeks of the high school football season are in the books for Chagrin Valley Conference teams.