Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Lutheran West places five at Lady Longhorn Tournament

Lutheran West’s 1st Annual Lady Longhorn Tournament was contested on Tuesday with eight Chagrin Valley Conference wrestlers finishing among the top four at their respective weight classes.

Olentangy Orange won the tournament and Western Brown and Minerva rounded out the top three.

The host Longhorns, who placed fifth as a team, landed five wrestlers among the top four while Harvey had two top four finishers and Brooklyn had one.

Harvey’s Melanie Herrera found the most success as she finished second at 100 pounds.

Lutheran West’s Catie Kerr (120) and Lo Zielinski (140) placed third.

Fourth-place finishers included Brooklyn’s Sofia Collins (110), Harvey’s Lizzett Garay (125), and Lutheran West’s Nat Rodriguez (145), Jae Reyes (155), and Paris Willis (170).

Team Placement:

1. Olentangy Orange
2. Western Brown
3. Minerva
4. Mogadore
5. Lutheran West
6. Brookfield
7. CCC
8. Central Crossing
9. Elyria
10. Manchester
11. Mentor
12. Port Clinton
13. United
14. New London
15. Rossford
16. Western Reserve
17. Firestone
18. Madison Comp
19. Champion
20. Columbia
21. Keystone
22. North Canton
23. Alliance
24. Avon Lake
25. Brooklyn
26. North Royalton
27. Brush
28. Firelands
29. Harvey
30. Lakewood
31. Mapleton
32. Madison
33. Riverside
34. Normandy

1: Bridgett Hilliard (Minerva)
2: Melanie Herrera (Harvey)
3: Abigail Bailey (Alliance)
4: Alexus Lyndsey (Western Brown)

1: Riley Baynas (Elyria)
2: Adri Metzler (Olentangy Orange)
3: Hannah Plum (Mogadore)
4: Rylee Horning (Alliance)

1: Addison Ruddolph (Central Crossing)
2: Paige Lucas (Minerva)
3: Sarah Napier (Columbia)
4: Sofia Collins (Brooklyn)

1: Kelsey Lasch (Western Reserve)
2: Dakota Propeck (Western Brown)
3: Ava Nelson (Mentor)
4: Liv Hussar (Rossford)

1: Jaydyn McKinney (Manchester)
2: Jada Shafer (Minerva)
3: Catie Kerr (Lutheran West)
4: Lucy Scheibeck (Olentangy Orange)

1: Emily Shupe (Firelands)
2: Zoe Gaetjens (Mogadore)
3: Lexy Fultz (Western Brown)
4: Lizzett Garay (Harvey)

1: Cadence Wallace (Port Clinton)
2: Johannah Klette (Western Brown)
3: Ally Lloyd (Mentor)
4: Sophia Antonio (North Royalton)

1: Lacie Reese (Western Brown)
2: Mia Gaetjen (Mogadore)
3: Olive Karam (Champion)
4: Shea Herda (Mentor)

1: Alicia Coleman (Olentangy Orange)
2: Lyndsee Young (Madison Comp.)
3: Lo Zielinski (Lutheran West)
4: Rejan Al-Hashash (Avon Lake)

1: Allydia Byard (New London)
2: Kascidy Garren (Olentangy Orange)
3: Jordan Palmer (North Canton)
4: Nat Rodriguez (Lutheran West)

1: Zoe Hussar (Rossford)
2: Surraiya Mahmud (Olentangy Orange)
3: Jazmine Ross-Callix (Olentangy Orange)
4: Jae Reyes (Lutheran West)

1: Bailey Hackett (Brookfield)
2: Maddie Menchaca (Mentor)
3: Jamie Penny (Mentor)
4: Paris Willis (Lutheran West)

1: Masarrah Robinson (CCC)
2: Emily Lorenzon (Firestone)
3: Emily Jirousek (Keystone)
4: Zayna Muntaser (Lakewood)

1: Dakota McCracken (United)
2: Kayley Ross (Alliance)
3: Jessie Twardesky (Lakewood)
4: Evian Myers (Columbia)


Steve Harehttp://www.ohiovarsity.com
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes OhioVarsity.com, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

CVC State Track Meet Qualifiers

The Chagrin Valley Conference will be well-represented at the 2023 OHSAA State Track & Field Championships as 52 athletes from the league qualified to compete.

Orange sweeps Division II state titles

Orange’s postseason dominance continued on Saturday at the Division II state tournament at the Ty Tucker Tennis Center on Ohio State University’s campus.

Andryszczyk’s legendary performance sends Independence to Sweet Sixteen

Mike Andryszczyk’s legendary performance in a district championship game landed Independence in the Sweet Sixteen for the first time since 2014.

Waynedale ends Chagrin Falls’ postseason run

Chagrin Falls’ postseason run came to an end on Wednesday with a 3-0 loss to defending state champion Waynedale in a Division III district championship game at Norwayne High School.

Beachwood wins first league title in over 40 years

With a 14-9 win over Harvey on May 12, Beachwood's softball team won its first conference title in over 40 years.