Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Perry wins first district championship in school history

Perry placed nine wrestlers among the top six on the way to clinching its first district title in school history on Saturday.

The Pirates had five wrestlers finish among the top four and earn a berth in next weekend’s OHSAA State Wrestling Championships, which helped Perry fight off second-place Waynedale for the Division III Independence District crown.

Perry scored 160 points while Waynedale finished with 148.

Riley Rowan (126) and Chance Schlauch (144) both competed for an individual district title but fell short. Rowan dropped a 6-2 decision to Crestwood’s J.P. Wrobel while Schlauch lost a 10-2 major decision to Mapleton’s Brock Durbin.

Perry’s Chris Bezzeg (138) and Domenick LaMacchia (165) both placed third, and Antonius Bertone (175) will join his teammates in Columbus after placing fourth.

Lucas Spring placed fifth at 132 pounds and will serve as a state alternate for the Pirates. If one of the top four wrestlers from the Independence district is unable to compete, Spring would fill his spot in the bracket. Landon Rusnak (113), Drew Smith (150), and Michael Niedzwiecki (157) each placed sixth for the Pirates.

Trinity and Crestwood each earned top 10 finishes.

The Trojans placed sixth with 104.5 points while the Red Devils finished 10th with 59.5.

Trinity’s Derion Williams continued his dominant run as a freshman by winning the 106-pound title with a 3-1 sudden victory over Columbia’s Michael Frye in the title bout.

Xavier Pearson (120) and Brandon Bruce-Bey (175) also reached the championship bout but came up short and settled for second place.

Pearson dropped a 6-3 decision to Lake Catholic’s Parker Pikor, the 2023 state runner-up at 106 pounds, and Bruce-Bey fell to Saline Southern’s Gabe Blissenbach, 4-0.

The Trojans will send two more wrestlers to Columbus after Reginald Baines placed fourth at 150 and Cameron Carter finished third at 190.

Crestwood placed three wrestlers with J.P. Wrobel earning a fourth trip to the state meet after winning his first district title with a 6-2 win over Perry’s Rowan at 126.

Both Rocco Wrobel and Drake Rennecker will serve as state alternates after placing fifth in their respective weight classes.

Wrobel finished his freshman season with a fifth-place finish at 106 and Rennecker placed fifth at 150.

Beachwood’s Caleb Greenwood also will head down to Columbus after placing second at 150. He dropped a 3-2 decision to Tuslaw’s Jacob Lyons in the title bout. Lyons placed seventh at state last season.

Berkshire’s Alex Munn and Conneaut’s Scotty Edwards will join the parade from Northeast Ohio to Columbus next weekend after finishing among the top four in their brackets.

Munn placed third at 144 while Edwards was fourth at 285.

Berkshire’s Colin Hering (113) and Cuyahoga Height’s Cooper Kucia (126) placed fifth and will serve as state alternates.

Independence’s Charlie Meyer (132) and Cuyahoga Heights’ Jeremiah Reed (285) earned sixth-place finishes.

Chagrin Valley Conference wrestlers found similar success at the Division II Kenston District.

Madison placed eighth as a team and West Geauga finished 14th in the team race and the CVC advanced eight wrestlers to the state tournament with one claiming a district title.

Hawken’s Will Greenberg atoned for his fifth-place finish last winter by jumping to the top of the podium with a 3-2 win over Alliance’s Aidan Mozden in the championship bout. Mozden won the 215-pound district title last season and also placed third at the state tournament.

Edgewood’s Kyle Vencill (157) and Noah Blough (165) settled for district runner-up finishes after dropping narrow decisions in their championship bouts.

Lutheran West’s D.J. Otero (106), Jefferson’s Jonathon Bissell (138), West Geauga’s Ethan Bartlett (150), and Madison’s Izaiah Siler (157) will join Greenberg, Vencill, and Blough at the state tournament following their top-four finishes at the district tournament.

Otero and Bissell placed third while Bartlett and Siler finished fourth.

Madison’s Jack Harrison (126) and Demitry Novarro (190), Edgewood’s Zeke Lucas (175), and West Geauga’s Brian Denamen (157) each placed fifth and will serve as state alternates. West Geauga’s Caden Kaleal placed sixth at 120.




Steve Hare
Steve Harehttp://www.ohiovarsity.com
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes OhioVarsity.com, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles


Beachwood, Independence turn in strong performances at Bison Invitational

Beachwood and Independence turned in strong performances at the 2024 Bison Invitational on Saturday.

Madison girls win 2024 Ranger Invitational

Madison’s girls’ track team took home the team title at the 2024 Ranger Invitational on Friday.

CVC Athletes of the Week

Athletes from 11 different schools have been named the Chagrin Valley Conference Athletes of the Week for the week ending April 14.

Timely hits lead Independence to win at Berkshire

Independence’s timely hits in the third and seventh innings led the Blue Devils to a 6-2 win at Berkshire on Thursday.

Beachwood bats catch fire in win at Orange

Beachwood’s bats caught fire in the middle of its 18-8 five-inning win at Chagrin Valley Conference Chagrin Division rival Orange on Monday.