Wednesday, December 7, 2022

Five from CVC earn All-Ohio baseball honors

The Ohio High School Baseball Coaches Association on Monday released its All-Ohio teams, which included five Chagrin Valley Conference players.

In Division II, Chagrin Falls senior Leo Fornara was named honorable mention All-Ohio as a pitcher. He was 6-3 with a 0.99 earned run average with six complete games and four shutouts in 15 games. He struck out 118 batters to just 24 walks in 77 1/3 innings of work.

Four players earned honorable mention All-Ohio honors in Division III.

Wickliffe senior Calvin Cackowski and Hawken junior Dominic Brancel both were selected as catchers while Grand Valley senior Hagan Hejduk and Kirtland senior Gage Sullivan were selected as an infielder and an outfielder, respectively.

Cackowski batted .479 with eight doubles, three triples, two home runs, 21 runs batted in, and 15 stolen bases. Brancel hit .380 with eight doubles, four home runs, 20 RBI, and seven stolen bases.

Hejduk recorded a .443 batting average with 10 doubles, 17 RBI, and 27 stolen bases. Sullivan hit .414 with eight doubles, five triples, one home run, 26 RBI, and 10 stolen bases.


Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

18 CVC players earn All-Ohio honors in Division IV & V

The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association on Tuesday released its 2022 Division IV and V All-Ohio teams. A total of 18 Chagrin Valley Conference players were...

Cardinal holds off Wickliffe, Trinity slips past Crestwood

Cardinal held off Wickliffe and Trinity slipped past a hot-shooting Crestwood team in Chagrin Valley Conference boys’ basketball action on Monday.

22 from CVC earn Division VI All-Ohio honors

The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association on Monday released its 2022 Division VI All-Ohio football teams with 22 players from the Chagrin Valley Conference earning...

Trinity’s Isabel Iacano makes history

Trinity’s Isabel Iacano made history on Sunday by becoming the first Trojan female wrestler to place at a wrestling tournament.

CVC wrestlers kick off the season

Chagrin Valley Conference wrestling teams kicked off the 2022-2023 season over the weekend.