Sunday, October 2, 2022

Hawks shine in sectional finals round

Hawken won four individual championships and went 5-for-5 in the championship round of the 2019 Division III Beachwood Sectional Tournament on Saturday.

Patrick Reineke (106), Christian French (113), Jackson Reineke (120) and William Lindsey (285) all won individual titles for the Hawks while Andrew Wagenberg finished third at 132 for the Hawks, who finished in fourth place overall with 118 points despite entering just seven wrestlers.

“The Hawken wrestling team had a great day at the sectionals,” Hawken coach Bob Rodriguez said. “I believe it is the first time in school history that we have had four champions.”

Reineke defeated Berkshire’s James Klingman, 9-6, to win a brutal 106-pound weight class. French pinned Berkshire’s Josh Tribuzzo in 5:33 and Jackson Reineke edged Pymatuning Valley’s Jake Edelman, 9-5, in a rematch of last year’s sectional championship featuring two returning state qualifiers.

“Patrick Reineke got through a loaded 106 bracket by scoring from all positions and controlling his matches,” Rodriguez said. “Christian French pinned his opponent from Berkshire who had beaten him twice this season. Jackson Reineke turned the tables on fellow state qualifier Jake Edelman from Pymatuning Valley.”

Lindsey advanced to the semifinals with pins of 13 and 21 seconds then beat St. John’s Ryan Elrod, 7-0, and received a forfeit in the finals.

His quarterfinals victory resulted in his 100th career win.

Wagenberg lost to eventual sectional champion Logan Rutherford of Garrettsville Garfield in the semifinals then bounced back with two pins to place third.

“Overall, the kids stayed in good position and took advantage of many of their scoring opportunities,” Rodriguez said. “We are looking forward to competing at the districts next weekend.”

Beachwood finished third overall with 119.5 points, Berkshire was ninth with 94, Kirtland finished 10th with 89, Cardinal was 11th with 50 and Wickliffe placed 13th with 32 points.

Beachwood’s district qualifiers included Jeremy Leizman (3rd at 113), Eisa Texiera (2nd at 126), Paul Jacobs (2nd at 132), Michael Schmidt (3rd at 138) and Elijah Durham-Harris (3rd at 195).

Berkshire advanced four to districts including Klingman, Tribuzzo, Jarrod Malkus (2nd at 145) and Lucas Stoddard (3rd at 170).

Kirtland’s district qualifiers included Will Davidson (4th at 106), Konnor Duncan (1st at 126), Aidan Marsh (2nd at 152) and Anthony Gencarelli (4th at 220).

Cardinal advanced two to the Garfield Heights district led by 152-pound champion Jerry Rose. Ryan Shanower placed fourth at 126.

Wickliffe’s Doug Byrne was the only other Chagrin Valley Conference wrestler to punch his ticket to districts after he won the 182-pound title.

District alternates from the CVC include Wickliffe’s Matthew Diaz (113), Beachwood’s Zach Kudroff (120), Eli Goldman (145) and Will Henry (152), Cardinal’s Trevor Bachna (138) and Kirtland’s Brayden Adkins (160) and Brennon Braud (182).

Sect. Tournament: Div. III – Beachwood

Beachwood High School, Beachwood, OH
February 23, 2019

Sect. Tournament: Div. III – Beachwood Scores
1. Liberty 142.0; 2. Grand Valley 136.0; 3. Beachwood 119.5; 4. Hawken 118.0; 5. Ash. St. John 116.0; 6. Gar. Garfield 107.0; 7. Pymatuning Valley 105.0; 8. Newbury 96.5; 9. Berkshire 94.0; 10. Kirtland 89.0; 11. Cardinal 50.0; 12. Brookfield 46.0; 13. Wickliffe 32.0;

First Place
106: Patrick Reineke (Hawken) dec. James Klingman (Berkshire) 9-6;
113: Christian French (Hawken) pin Josh Tribuzzo (Berkshire) 5:33;
120: Jackson Reineke (Hawken) dec. Jake Edelman (Pymatuning Valley) 9-5;
126: Konnor Duncan (Kirtland) pin Eisa Texiera (Beachwood) 1:59;
132: Logan Rutherford (Gar. Garfield) pin Paul Jacobs (Beachwood) 2:52;
138: Noah Campbell (Pymatuning Valley) tech. fall Tyler Wilson (Liberty) tf17-2;
145: Nick Burgard (Ash. St. John) pin Jarrod Malkus (Berkshire) 0:49;
152: Jerry Rose (Cardinal) pin Aidan Marsh (Kirtland) 1:20;
160: Ethan Ducca (Ash. St. John) pin Connor Hrubik (Gar. Garfield) 0:55;
170: David Cumberledge (Ash. St. John) forfeit Clayton Takacs (Grand Valley) Forfeit;
182: Doug Byrne (Wickliffe) pin Zach Hazlett (Grand Valley) 1:26;
195: Mitch Sanders (Newbury) dec. Kaleb Merrick-Neff (Liberty) 3-2;
220: Noah Hoffmann (Gar. Garfield) pin Mason Shreve (Grand Valley) 3:36;
285: William Lindsey (Hawken) forfeit Simi Moananu (Liberty) Forfeit;

Third Place
106: Joey Bond (Newbury) pin Will Davidson (Kirtland) 2:12;
113: Jeremy Leizman (Beachwood) pin Tim Sommer (Gar. Garfield) 2:41;
120: Trevor Meeker (Grand Valley) dec. Jacob Scoville (Liberty) 6-2;
126: William Campbell (Pymatuning Valley) pin Ryan Shanower (Cardinal) 2:11;
132: Andrew Wagenberg (Hawken) pin Isaiah Anderson (Grand Valley) 2:46;
138: Michael Schmidt (Beachwood) pin Thomas Bond (Newbury) 0:58;
145: Dylan Young (Liberty) dec. Zach Hall (Grand Valley) 11-4;
152: Jared Zimperman (Newbury) pin Keighan Griffith (Liberty) 1:55;
160: Zion Matlock (Liberty) pin Jonathan Soltis (Grand Valley) 0:48;
170: Lucas Stoddard (Berkshire) dec. Jonathon Hundzsa (Gar. Garfield) 4-0;
182: Kenny Crouch (Pymatuning Valley) pin David Fuentes (Ash. St. John) 0:29;
195: Elijah Durham-Harris (Beachwood) pin Joe Hackett (Brookfield) 2:17;
220: Alex Piczer (Newbury) pin Anthony Gencarelli (Kirtland) 0:40;
285: Ryan Elrod (Ash. St. John) forfeit Victor Verba (Pymatuning Valley) Forfeit;

Fifth Place
106: Tyler Cathcart (Ash. St. John) dec. Daniel Demma (Gar. Garfield) 11-5;
113: Matthew Diaz (Wickliffe) dec. Cheyenne Dockery (Grand Valley) 2-0;
120: Zach Kudroff (Beachwood) pin Justin Heiden (Berkshire) 2:17;
126: Alex Sullivan (Grand Valley) pin Hayden Troyer (Gar. Garfield) 3:08;
132: John Webb (Brookfield) dec. Maan Adhami (Liberty) 6-0;
138: Trevor Bacna (Cardinal) pin Will Seger (Grand Valley) 0:37;
145: Eli Goldman (Beachwood) tech. fall Chase Simak (Cardinal) tf16-0;
152: Will Henry (Beachwood) pin Gavin Currence (Berkshire) 1:30;
160: Brayden Adkins (Kirtland) tech. fall J.J. Perrin (Berkshire) tf19-4;
170: Bryce Farmer (Pymatuning Valley) pin Camden Husk (Liberty) 2:53;
182: Brennon Braud (Kirtland) pin Mike McKale (Newbury) 0:55;
195: Jaret Takacs (Grand Valley) dec. Ryan Ford (Berkshire) 4-3;
220: Giovanni DiNardo (Liberty) pin Kyle Wedge (Brookfield) 0:40;
285: Luke Beckstine (Brookfield) pin Cooper Pilarczyk (Grand Valley) 0:49;

Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Kirtland overpowers Perry in clash of Chagrin Division titans

Kirtland scored 36 unanswered points in a 36-16 win over visiting Perry in a clash of CVC Chagrin Division titans.

CVC TV: Lakeside at Chagrin Falls

CVC TV heads to Chagrin Falls for a Week 7 matchup between the host Tigers and visiting Lakeside Dragons.

Wickliffe readies for postseason with win over Brooklyn

Wickliffe took another step in preparing for the postseason with a 4-0 win over visiting Brooklyn on Thursday.

Hawken blanks Orange

Ally Taylor, Josie Culver, and Evelyn Lally scored goals in leading Hawken to a 3-0 win over visiting Orange on Thursday.

Chagrin Falls, Orange headed to the district tournament

Chagrin Falls won a sectional title and Orange finished among the top three and will join the Tigers at the district tournament next week.