Saturday, March 25, 2023

West Geauga, Crestwood run to CVC titles

West Geauga and Crestwood ran to Chagrin Valley Conference cross country titles on Saturday at Cardinal High School.

The Wolverines won the Chagrin Division title with 37 points, narrowly edging second-place Hawken, who finished with 38. The Red Devils ran away from the field in winning the Valley Division. Crestwood finished with a score of 49 while second-place Independence finished with 88.

West Geauga senior Daniel Kearns was the first-place finisher in the Chagrin Division. Kearns finished in 15:44. The Wolverines had four other runners finish among the top 20 including Matt Dienes (4th, 16:29), Chris Whiting (8th, 16:43), John Mikes (10th, 17:09), and Grant Congdon (14th, 17:17).

Hawken’s Nick Garcia-Whitko finished as the runner-up in the Chagrin Division with a time of 16:11. Hawken’s other top 20 runners included Sam Cohen (5th, 16:33), Tommy Mooney (7th, 16:40), Parker Carrus (9th, 16:46), Logan Miller (15th, 17:26), and Chase Levey (20th, 17:44).

Orange landed five runners in the top 20.

Brian Gent led the Lions with a time of 16:20, good for third place. Brandon Gent finished 12th in 17:09, Chris Utech was 13th in 17:14, Nicolas Bustamante was 17th in 17:36, and Ishan Bhatt placed 18th in 17:41.

Other top 20 finishers included Edgewood’s Granison Hill (6th, 16:34), Chagrin Falls’ Jimmy Mooney (11th, 17:09), Geneva’s Donald Shymske (16th, 17:35), and Beachwood’s Max Kuenzler (19th, 17:43).

Grand Valley’s David Steimle cruised to the win in the Valley Division with a time of 16:42 but Crestwood had the depth as four Red Devils finished in the top 20.

Augie Schweickert led the way with a time of 17:49, good for third place. Henry Hoover (4th, 18:01), Kevin Vochery (8th, 18:04), Hans Sebold (14th, 18:36), and Grayson Sanwald (17th, 19:04) helped the Red Devils secure their league title.

Other top 20 runners included Cuyahoga Heights’ Bradyn Rusch (2nd, 17:23) and Caden Buccier (10th, 18:16), Independence’s Kyle McGovern (4th, 17:52), James Kitagawa (12th, 18:34), and Brian Angyal (15th, 18:56), Wickliffe’s Brady Pugh (5th, 17:58) and Dominic Borsich (9th, 18:12), Cardinal’s Samuel Gdovichin (6th, 18:01), Kirtland’s Ben Sherman (11th, 18:30) and Ian Borthwick (13th, 18:35), Grand Valley’s Ethan Hughes (16th, 19:00), Lutheran West’s Thomas Bill (18th, 19:06) and Tyler Vance (20th, 19:08), and Berkshire’s Quinlan Sirl (19th, 19:07).

Full Results:



Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Geneva’s Jen Crossley named NEOIAAA Athletic Director of the Year

Geneva’s Jen Crossley was named a 2023 Northeast Ohio Interscholastic Athletic Administration Association Athletic Director of the Year.

Baseball Preview: Lakeside Dragons

Lakeside enters the 2023 season with six returning starters but its fair share of question marks.

Softball Preview: West Geauga Wolverines

West Geauga enters the 2023 season with seven returning starters and a new head coach, who hopes to see his program continue to develop.

CVC lands eight on Division I & II All-Ohio teams

Eight players from around the Chagrin Valley Conference were recognized as All-Ohioans on Thursday.

Baseball Preview: Chagrin Falls Tigers

Chagrin Falls has some rebuilding to do after the graduation of six key seniors from the team that finished 19-12 overall and won a Division II district championship.