Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Perry, Kirtland outrun the field at CVC championships

Perry and Kirtland outran the field at the 2022 Chagrin Valley Conference cross country championships at Cardinal High School on Saturday.

The Pirates scored 34 points to win the Chagrin Division title while Geneva finished second with 51. Kirtland won its third straight Valley Division crown with 41 points. Crestwood was second with 54.

Perry senior Grace McKoon emerged at the front of a crowded pack to win the Chagrin Division as an individual. McKoon finished in 19:25, 11 seconds ahead of Edgewood’s Tammy Liplin, who placed second, and 20 seconds ahead of Edgewood’s Maddie Crooks, who was third.

McKoon was one of six Pirates who finished among the top 20 runners.

Holly Vis placed seventh in 20:11, Molly Farrell was ninth in 20:58, Kaitlyn Newsome ran to 11th place with a time of 21:19, Audrey Morgan-Ard placed 14th in 21:54, and Anna Holp finished 19th in 22:27.

Hawken finished with four runners among the top 20 including Brielle Collins (4th, 19:53), Delicia Liao (10th, 21:08), Elena Padley (12th, 21:44), and Camilla Mari (15th, 22:09).

Geneva used its depth to earn the runner-up finish.

The Eagles had six runners in the top 20 including Mya Evangelista (6th, 20:06), Grace Dubsky (8th, 20:43), Maggie Moon (13th, 21:46), Mackenzie Lyons (16th, 22:13), Riley Andrusis (18th, 22:26), and Ines Montaner (20th, 22:31).

West Geauga and Geneva both had one runner place among the top 20.

Taylor Deets led the Wolverines with a fifth-place finish in 19:55 and Leah Kler paced the Tigers. She finished 17th in 22:17.

Grand Valley’s Anna Steimle claimed the Valley Division individual title with a time of 20:04, but Kirtland’s depth proved valuable for the Hornets in the team race.

Led by Ainsley Borthwick, the Hornets had three runners finish among the top five and five in the top 20.

Borthwick finished third in 20:28, Sylvia Vosicky and Izzie Copeland placed fourth and fifth, respectively, in 21:03 and 21:15. Stephanie Drazetic placed 17th in 22:56 and Jessy Jackson was 19th in 23:20.

Crestwood’s strong finish was set up by four runners finishing among the top 20 including Elaine Guyette (7th, 21:18), Erin Hallis (8th, 21:40), Abby Guyette (10th, 21:48), and Kennedy Rhodes (11th, 22:04).

Wickliffe’s Markalla Tumbry finished as the Valley Division runner-up with a time of 20:17. Teammate Tori Stiles also finished among the top 20 as she placed 14th in 22:33.

Other top 20 runners included Cardinal’s Lily Ayer (6th, 21:17), Eve Kaminski (12th, 22:05), Riley Homa (15th, 22:41), and Aubreight Kitzmiller (16th, 22:51), Independence’s Alana Nowak (9th, 21:43), Trinity’s Sarah Dzurilla (13th, 22:31), Berkshire’s Grace Toth (18th, 23:18), and Lutheran West’s Sammy Vogel (20th, 23:26).

Full Results:

Steve Harehttp://www.ohiovarsity.com
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes OhioVarsity.com, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

CVC State Track Meet Qualifiers

The Chagrin Valley Conference will be well-represented at the 2023 OHSAA State Track & Field Championships as 52 athletes from the league qualified to compete.

Orange sweeps Division II state titles

Orange’s postseason dominance continued on Saturday at the Division II state tournament at the Ty Tucker Tennis Center on Ohio State University’s campus.

Andryszczyk’s legendary performance sends Independence to Sweet Sixteen

Mike Andryszczyk’s legendary performance in a district championship game landed Independence in the Sweet Sixteen for the first time since 2014.

Waynedale ends Chagrin Falls’ postseason run

Chagrin Falls’ postseason run came to an end on Wednesday with a 3-0 loss to defending state champion Waynedale in a Division III district championship game at Norwayne High School.

Beachwood wins first league title in over 40 years

With a 14-9 win over Harvey on May 12, Beachwood's softball team won its first conference title in over 40 years.