Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Hawken defends CVC title

Hawken won its second straight Chagrin Valley Conference Chagrin Division tennis championship on Saturday at Beachwood High School.

The Hawks won four of five events to finish with 24 points. Orange finished second with 19 and Beachwood was third with 14 points.

Orange’s Alexis Nyborg earned the division’s MVP award after beating Hawken’s Hayley Garber in the first singles championship bout. Nyborg drew a first-round bye and then beat Chagrin Falls’ Ella Goyzman in the semifinal round, 6-0, 6-1.

Hawken’s Eliana Yang won at second singles and Bella Hsieh claimed her first title at third singles.

The Hawks also swept the doubles competition with Anjali Jawa and Beatrice Hardacre winning at first doubles and Tina Tewari and Jamie Park taking home the second doubles competition.

Each winner earned first-team all-conference honors.

Second team recipients included Garber at first singles, Orange’s Daniela Demata Hiciano at second singles and Natalie Borsch at third singles, Beachwood’s Grace Yan and Abby Cherian at first doubles, and Chagrin Falls’ Mandy Williams and Shannon McElhinney at second doubles.

Orange’s Rich Bole was named Chagrin Division Coach of the Year.


1. Hawken 24
2. Orange 19
3. Beachwood 14
4. Chagrin Falls 13
5. Crestwood 0
5. West Geauga 0


  • First Round: Ella Goyzman (CF) def. Ella Flowers (WG), 6-0, 6-1; Zilin Zhang (BEA) def. Kelsey Downs (CRW), 6-0, 6-0
  • Semifinals: Alexis Nyborg (ORA) def. Goyzman (CF), 6-0, 6-1; Hayley Garber (HAW) def. Zhang (BEA), 6-0, 6-0
  • Third Place Match: Zhang (BEA) def. Goyzman (CF), 6-0, 6-4
  • First Place Match: Nyborg (ORA) def. Garber (HAW), forfeit


  • First Round: Shreya Chellu (BEA) def. Sofie Simone (WG), 6-0, 6-0; Lyla Breeden (CF) def. Lucia Kasper (CRW), 6-0, 6-0
  • Semifinals: Eliyana Yang (HAW) def. Chellu (BEA), Daniela Demata Hiciano (ORA) def. Breeden (CF), 6-3, 6-2
  • Third Place Match: Breeden (CF) def. Chellu (BEA), 6-1, 6-2
  • First Place Match: Yang (HAW) def. Demata Hiciano (ORA), 6-4, 6-0


  • First Round: Amy Zhou (BEA) def. Isabella Maguire (WG), 6-3, 6-0; Tori Seitz (CF) def. Olivia Gullotta (CRW), 6-1, 6-1
  • Semifinals: Bella Hsieh (HAW) def. Zhou (BEA), 6-0, 6-1; Natalie Borsch (ORA) def. Seitz (CF), 6-0, 6-0
  • Third Place Match: Zhou (BEA) def. Seitz (CF), 6-3, 6-4
  • First Place Match: Hsieh (HAW) def. Borsch (ORA), 6-0, 6-1


  • First Round: Sadie Meyer/Nina Dzidzishvili (ORA) def. Maggie Furst/Ireland Finnerty (WG), 6-1, 6-2; Kyla Williams/Delaney Joyce (CF) def. Livie Sayre/Olivia Glova (CRW), 6-0, 6-0
  • Semifinals: Anjali Jawa/Beatrice Hardacre (HAW) def. Meyer/Dzidzishvili (ORA), 6-2, 7-5; Grace Yan/Abby Cherian (BEA) def. Williams/Joyce (CF), 6-2, 2-6, 6-4
  • Third Place Match: Meyer/Dzidzishvili (ORA) def. Williams/Joyce (CF)
  • First Place Match: Jawa/Hardacre (HAW) def. Yan/Cherian (BEA), 6-1, 6-0


  • First Round: Alice Anastos/Nia Brown (BEA) def. Emily Carter/Rachel Aranova (WG), 6-0, 6-0; Mandy Williams/Shannon McElhinney (CF), 6-0, 6-1
  • Semifinals: Tina Tewari/Jamie Park (HAW) def. Anastos/Brown (BEA), DNF-Injury; Williams/McElhinney (CF) def. Remy Perry/Haley Paradise (ORA), 6-1, 6-4
  • Third Place Match: Perry/Paradise (ORA) def. Anastos/Brown (BEA)
  • First Place Match: Tewari/Park (HAW) def. Williams/McElhinney (CF), 6-4, 6-1


First Team

  • First Singles: Alexis Nyborg (Orange)
  • Second Singles: Eliana Yang (Hawken)
  • Third Singles: Bella Hsieh (Hawken)
  • First Doubles: Anjali Jawa/Beatrice Hardacre (Hawken)
  • Second Doubles: Tina Tewari/Jamie Park (Hawken)

Second Team

  • First Singles: Hayley Garber (Hawken)
  • Second Singles: Daniela Demata Hiciano (Orange)
  • Third Singles: Natalie Borsch (Orange)
  • First Doubles: Grace Yan/Abby Cherian (Beachwood)
  • Second Doubles: Mandy Williams/Shannon McElhinney (Chagrin Falls)

Honorable Mention

  • Chagrin Falls: Lyla Breeden, Ella Goyzman
  • Crestwood: Kelsey Downs, Lucia Kasper
  • Hawken: Eden Grossman, Cassidy Feng
  • Orange: Sadie Meyer, Nina Dzidzishvili
  • West Geauga: Ella Flowers, Sofie Simone

Chagrin Division Coach of the Year: Rich Bole (Orange)
Chagrin Division Player of the Year: Alexis Nyborg (Orange)

Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Perry earns first trip to district tournament

Perry’s girls’ golf team cemented its legacy as the best in school history on Tuesday by becoming the first Pirate team to qualify for the district tournament.

CVC Boys Soccer Stat Leaders

The high school soccer season has crossed the midway point and the top players are making their mark.

Geneva wins CVC Valley Division tennis tournament

Geneva edged host Lakeside to win the 2023 Chagrin Valley Conference Valley Division girls’ tennis tournament on Saturday.

Hawken girls win Chagrin Division tennis tournament

Hawken won three of five individual titles on the way to clinching the 2023 Chagrin Valley Conference Chagrin Division tournament championship on Saturday at Perry High School.

CVC Football Roundup: Week 6

Six weeks of the high school football season are in the books for Chagrin Valley Conference teams.