Thursday, April 18, 2024

Perry wins Valley Division title

ASHTABULA–Perry won individual championships in each of the five events at the 2021 Chagrin Valley Conference Valley Division tennis tournament at Lakeside on Saturday.

The Pirates swept first place in first singles, second singles, third singles, first doubles, and second doubles on the way to scoring 25 points. Geneva finished second with 20 points.

Lily Walker won her second straight first singles title by defeating Geneva’s Gabbi Selman, 6-3, 6-1. Audrey Austin won her first second singles title with a 6-3, 6-2 win over Geneva’s Mackenzie Dipofi, and Nikk Rosati won her second straight third singles title. Rosati beat Geneva’s Addison Dipofi in the finals, 6-3, 4-6, 10-7 (MB).

Perry’s first doubles team of Hannah Green and Zoey Hicks beat Geneva’s Cynthia Seames and Lauren Stark, 6-4, 6-4, and Caitlin Homolya teamed up with Alexa Titus to win second doubles. Homolya and Titus beat Geneva’s Annalisa Ellsworth and Isabella Rose in the championship match, 6-4, 6-0.

Each Perry player earned first-team all-conference honors and coach Rob Walker was named the Valley Division Coach of the Year.

Geneva swept the second-team awards and Amelia Riddell earned honorable mention honors.

Edgewood’s Giavanna Victor and Izzy Arcaro, Harvey’s Natalia Martinez and Brenda Meza, and Lakeside’s Kylie Klug and Keira Varckette all were named honorable mention All-CVC.


1. Perry 25
2. Geneva 20
3. Lakeside 14
4. Edgewood 11
5. Harvey 4


  • Play-in Match: Giavanna Victor (EDG) def. Natalia Martinez (HAR), 6-0, 6-0
  • First Round: Lily Walker (PER) def. Gianna Victor (EDG), 6-0, 6-0 / Gabbi Selman (GEN) def. Aryanna Toth (LAK), 6-1, 6-1
  • Third Place Match: Aryanna Toth (LAK) def. Giavanna Victor (EDG), 8-2
  • First Place Match: Lily Walker (PER) def. Gabbi Selman (GEN), 6-3, 6-1


  • Play-in Match: Kailey Rantanen (EDG) def. Kim Forness (HAR) 6-1, 6-0
  • First Round: Audrey Austin (PER) def. Kailey Rananen (EDG) 6-0, 6-0 / Machenzie Dipofi (GEN) def. Kylie Klug (LAK) 6-1, 6-1
  • Third Place Match: Kaily Rantanen (EDG) def. Kylie Klug (LAK) 9 (8) – 8 (6)
  • First Place Match: Audrey Austin (PER) def. Mackenzie Dipofi (GEN) 6-3, 6-2


  • First Round: Nikki Rosati (PER) def. Olivia DiGiacomo (EDG) 6-2, 6-0 / Addison Dipofi (GEN) def. Keira Varckette (LAK) 7-5, 6-1
  • Third Place Match: Keira Varckette (LAK) def. Olivia DiGiacomo (EDG) 8-3
  • First Place Match: Nikki Rosati (PER) def. Addison Dipofi (GEN) 6-3, 4-6, 10-7 (MB)


  • Play-in Match: Izzy Arcaro/Talia McLaughlin (EDG) def. Violetta Martinez/Brenda Meza (HAR) 6-2, 6-0
  • First Round: Cynthia Seames/Lauren Stark (GEN) def. Arcaro/McLaughlin (EDG) 6-1, 6-1 / Hannah Green/Zoey Hicks (PER) def. Saphria Jones/Delaney McWreath (LAK) 6-0, 6-0
  • Third Place Match: Jones/McWreath (LAK) def. Arcaro/McLaughlin (EDG) 8-4
  • First Place Match: Green/Hicks (PER) def. Seames/Stark (GEN), 6-4, 6-4


  • Play-In Match: Myia Painter/Angelie Seaton (EDG) def. Natalia Galvan/Zoe Lovejoy (HAR) 6-1, 6-2
  • First Round: Annalisa Ellsworth/Isabella Rose (GEN) def. Painter/Seaton (EDG) 6-0, 6-0 / Caitlin Homolya/Alexa Titus (PER) def. Natalya Noce/Julie Paulchel (LAK) 6-0, 6-1
  • Third Place Match: Noce/Paulchel (LAK) def. Painter/Seaton (EDG) 8-4
  • First Place Match: Homolya/Titus (PER) def. Ellsworth/Rose (GEN) 6-4, 6-0


First Team

  • First Singles: Lily Walker (Perry)
  • Second Singles: Audrey Austin (Perry)
  • Third Singles: Nikki Rosati (Perry)
  • First Doubles: Hannah Green/Zoey Hicks (Perry)
  • Second Doubles: Caitlin Homolya/Alexa Titus (Perry)

Second Team

  • First Singles: Gabbi Selman (Geneva)
  • Second Singles: Mackenzie Dipofi (Geneva)
  • Third Singles: Addison Dipofi (Geneva)
  • First Doubles: Cynthia Seames/Lauren Stark (Geneva)
  • Second Doubles: Annalisa Ellsworth/Isabella Rose (Geneva)

Honorable Mention

  • Edgewood: Giavanna Victor, Izzy Arcaro
  • Geneva: Amelia Riddell
  • Harvey: Natalia Martinez, Brenda Meza
  • Lakeside: Kylie Klug, Keira Varckette

Valley Division Coach of the Year

  • Rob Walker (Perry)


Steve Hare
Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles


Beachwood bats catch fire in win at Orange

Beachwood’s bats caught fire in the middle of its 18-8 five-inning win at Chagrin Valley Conference Chagrin Division rival Orange on Monday.

CVC Athletes of the Week

Athletes from six different schools have been named the Chagrin Valley Conference Athletes of the Week for the week ending April 7.

Cardinal wins first conference game since 2019

Cardinal’s 16-3 win over visiting Grand Valley on Wednesday snapped the Huskie’s five-year conference losing streak.

Kirtland walks off with win over Crestwood

Maggie Kothera’s walk-off single in the bottom of the seventh inning led Kirtland to a 14-13 win over visiting Crestwood on Wednesday.

Cuyahoga Heights, Kirtland win George Gross Invitational titles

Cuyahoga Heights’ boys’ and Kirtland’s girls’ track teams won team titles at the 24th Annual George Gross Invitational at Cuyahoga Heights on Tuesday.