Sunday, January 29, 2023

Hawken’s Patrick Reineke wins fourth sectional title

INDEPENDENCE—Hawken senior Patrick Reineke won his fourth straight sectional title on Saturday.

Reineke was one of 14 wrestlers from the Chagrin Valley Conference to earn a berth into the Division III Garfield Heights District Tournament by placing among the top four at their respective weight classes at the Independence Sectional on Saturday.

Reineke used two pins and a major decision to win the 120-pound bracket at Independence.

Cuyahoga Heights’ Antonio Chieffallo also stood atop the podium after winning the 126-pound title in dramatic fashion.

Chieffallo opened the tournament with a technical fall and a pin and then slipped past Independence’s Jack Valenti in the semifinals, 5-4.

Trailing Garfield’s Vince Damico 2-0 in the final seconds of the championship bout, Chieffallo was awarded one point for Damico’s second stalling violation and then another when Damico locked hands late in the match.

Chieffallo had his hand raised after a scoring error but had to resume wrestling in overtime after the referee corrected an erroneous escape point. Chieffallo earned a 3-2 decision in overtime to win the sectional title.

Cuyahoga Heights was the CVC’s top team as Heights placed fourth with 154 points.

Heights will send five wrestlers to the district tournament.

Chieffallo earned a No. 1 seed while Dustin Kattler placed second at 138 and Luke Torgerson was the runner-up at 175. Cooper Kucia (106) and Andrew Jakubczak (150) both placed fourth. Zander Mooney (113), Seth Kucia (132), Ryan Krajewski (144), Caleb Mahoney (165), Angelo Rocco (190), and Colin Deka (215) all placed fifth and will serve as district alternates.

Other district qualifiers from the CVC included Hawken’s Jacob Hlifka (2nd at 144) and Will Greenberg (2nd at 285), Independence’s Vinnie Kubicki (2nd at 113), Charlie Meyer (4th at 120), Jack Valenti (3rd at 126), Charlie Puklavec (3rd at 132), and Rory Corrigan (2nd at 190), and Lutheran West’s Isaiah Alarcon (3rd at 190).

Lutheran West also will have two district alternates in Luca Mead (5th at 126) and Oliver Lowe (5th at 285).

Crestwood advanced four wrestlers out of the Division III Rootstown Sectional.

J.P. Wrobel won the 126-pound title while Ethan Strahan finished second at 150 pounds.

Mason Daniels (120) and Evan Daniels (165) both placed fourth and Drake Rennecker will serve as a district alternate after placing fifth at 138 pounds.

Steve Hare
Steve Hare is the Chagrin Valley Conference's Sports Information Director. He also created and publishes, an online publication dedicated to providing hyperlocal coverage to area high school athletic programs. Hare began covering high school sports for the Lake County News Herald in 1997. Hare attended Willoughby South High School through the middle of his senior year, then graduated from Berkshire High School in Burton in 1986. He played football, wrestled and was an all-Geauga county baseball player (1986). He lives in Chardon with his wife Paulette and their children.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

2023 CVC Wrestling Championships Semifinal Pairings

The 2023 Chagrin Valley Conference Wrestling Championships began at Perry High School on Friday night and will continue on Saturday with the semifinals.

CVC Athletes of the Week

Athletes from 12 different schools have been named the Chagrin Valley Conference Athletes of the Week.

Kirtland back in title hunt after win over Berkshire

Kirtland is back in the hunt for the CVC Valley Division title after beating previously undefeated Berkshire on Wednesday, 53-40.

Tigers lock up first conference title since 2015

With a 59-25 win at Orange on Wednesday, Chagrin Falls’ girls’ basketball team secured its first Chagrin Valley Conference title since 2015.

CVC swim championships claimed on Saturday

Chagrin Falls, Beachwood, Hawken, and Perry each claimed a Chagrin Valley Conference swimming and diving championship on Saturday at Beachwood High School.